EET stands for Expanding Expression Tool. It is a kit which helps students to use stronger, more descriptive oral and written language. From the EET website: “The Expanding Expression Tool provides students with a hands-on approach to describing and defining. As a mnemonic device, it provides visual and tactile information which facilitates improved language organization. The kit itself is designed to allow you to follow a hierarchical approach taking student’s expression from words to paragraphs to reports. Therefore, it can be used by a variety of ages.”

expanding-expression-tool-kit-udzuyv

Confession: I saw the EET craze a while back, and ignored it. I saw all of the blogs of other SLPs talking about EET, how they were using EET in therapy, how great EET is… and I never looked it up. Then one day I did look it up, and discovered that it costs a lot of money to purchase the EET kit, but that it actually looked very handy. So I did what any self-respecting, thrifty crafter does – I bought materials at the fabric store and made my own describing beads.

EET beads

My describing beads are not the same as the original. It is made with wooden beads, which I painted and then embellished with a sharpie. It is strung differently on the cord than the EET, and has a ring at the top so I can clip it on my carabiner. However, it can work as a visual aid in the same way as the EET, and I can use it with all of the fabulous (and often FREE) Teachers Pay Teachers EET products. There are describing worksheets, graphic organizers, visuals to help remember what each bead stands for, and tons more.

 

1ddf9ece354fe26c8f51ddf3598fdb7a

The EET beads are a physical reminder for how to describe something. Each bead stands for a different aspect of describing, as you can see above. When describing something, you start with the green bead, and work through each bead until you get to the end. What group is it? What does it do? What does it look like? What parts does it have? 91rja0ebmol-_sy355_My current go-to for practicing wits describing beads is while playing the game Hedbanz. Each student gets a card, and then use the describing beads to prompt their questions to figure out what they have. The better their questions, the faster they can guess what is on their head.

What could you describe using the EET?

 

