Today I am sharing a video I found this week on a stuttering forum on Facebook. It was made by a young woman who stutters, imagining what if the covert stuttering “voice” in her head were a real person, pressuring her to hide her stuttering to avoid negative interactions or feelings.

I am so impressed both by the concepts the filmmaker is exploring, and also by the technical production by someone so young. I sometimes have difficulty taking a photo with my phone, but she can film in split screen, and edit the dialogue between her two selves!

This is a fantastic conversation-starter for older students, who may be grappling with the same issues around hiding their stutter vs. letting people know that they stutter. I am adding it to my growing playlist of stuttering videos on YouTube. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

 

