It is spring break this week in Edmonds. So far I have gotten a pedicure, spent time with family, and done some home improvement (new baseboards!). It’s not exactly relaxing, but it feels good to accomplish things.

It is time to start thinking forward to the end of the school year. (I can’t believe it, either!). There are 71 days until students will be let out for the long break of summer. And when that happens, there are three things that can happen.

  1. The student stops learning, and forgets some of the things they know. They return to school in September with fewer skills than they had in June. 😦
  2. The student stops learning, but maintains what they already learned. They make no gains over the summer.
  3. The student continues learning, and returns to school in September knowing even more than they did in June! 🙂

Obviously, I want option #3 for all of my students. In order for students to continue growing over the summer, they need to continue practicing EVERY WEEK of break! I send summer practice calendars home with each student at the end of the year, which are a great way to keep learning at the forefront. You will see those posted in the coming months, when I update them for this year. READING every day is another way to practice language and articulation skills.

One more way to keep on-track with summer learning is to do private therapy over the break. I take private clients in the summer (though none of the students I see at school, for ethical reasons), so if that is something which interests you, and you live in the Seattle area, let me know and we can schedule a free consultation in May or June. If you are looking for summer private therapy and I work with your student at school, let me know and I will refer you to some great SLPs in our area.

Either way, with home practice or with some extra therapy in the summer, students can come back in September ready to begin another year of learning!

