I posted last week about speech homework folders, which will be going home with each student working on their articulation skills this year.

I am also doing LANGUAGE homework folders, for students working on language skills.

Frequent practice is the biggest factor (aside from instruction from a speech/language pathologist) which impacts how quickly students progress in language therapy. But for language skills we aren’t drilling speech sounds. Instead, we are practicing vocabulary, making word connections, retelling stories, and working on our listening and speaking skills.

LANGUAGE HOMEWORK FOLDERS

Language Homework Folders

Each student will have their own Language Homework Folder, which will have a page showing their language goal and a homework log for parents to write notes about how practicing went.

I am starting this up by sending home a “Parent Speech/Language Survey” to each family, asking what growth they have noticed over the summer, what they would like their students to achieve this year, and whether they or another adult will be able to practice the homework with their child. I am hoping that this will help parents to “set the tone” for the year, by emphasizing how important it is to practice regularly!

Each week I will send home a page of activities to try. Ideally each student will practice at home 3-5x during the week, and then the parent will put the page back in the folder and send it back to me. I will check off the homework, and put in another page for the next week.

The parent log page is possibly the most important page in the folder. It gives parents a chance to write notes back to me, saying how the practice went that week. “Great!” “Too hard.” “What are antonyms?” This feedback will give me a chance to give better directions, adjust the difficulty of the home practice, or connect to trouble-shoot if things are hard. I hope parents will take advantage of the communication! (Of course parents can always call or email me… this is just another, easier way to connect).

Parent log page

I have also decided to implement special incentives this year. I have never done this before, but my students may need some motivation to carry their language folders to and from school, and bug their parents to keep practicing! For every 10 completed homework pages, the students will earn an invitation to a cupcake party with a friend. I will hold cupcake parties at the end of each semester, for the primary and intermediate grades.

CUPCAKE PARTY!

