One challenge in a public school system is working with students whose home language is different than mine. Many of my students are learning English as their second or third language. For students who have a communication disorder, it is important to recognize that their difficulties will exist in both languages.

One of my students who is working on the L sound comes from a Spanish-speaking home. Using Boardmaker, I’ve been able to create personalized speech practice sheets with both Spanish and English words! (Boardmaker has multiple language options, so this is pretty easy).

The coolest part is that I was able to find words that began with the L sound in both Spanish AND English, so he can practice the same skill in English at school, and in Spanish at home!

lips = labios!

lobster = langosta!

I feel pretty brilliant today. 🙂

Here is a link to one of my practice pages.

