One of the amazing parts of my job is working with parents of the students I serve. The STARS Foundation at Edmonds Elementary is an example. STARS stands for Supporting the Teaching of Art, Reading, and Science. Each year they raise money by throwing a gala and auction, and then use the money to fund the school musical, an art show, field trips for each classroom, and teacher grants. Teachers can write grants for their classrooms (or caseloads, in my case) and the STARS Foundation can decide to fund them!

This year they funded my request for Boardmaker Plus! Boardmaker software is a picture database that you can use in hundreds of ways to create special education materials. I’ve been using an older version to create worksheets and follow-up materials for my classroom lessons, personalized worksheets for my articulation students, and visual aids and schedules for students who need extra support. The amazing thing about the “Plus” part is that this newest version of Boardmaker can create INTERACTIVE activities. And the coolest part? One of my teachers is getting a TOUCH SCREEN in her classroom, so we can use the Boardmaker activities on the huge screen and her kids can touch the screen to make it work!

I’M SO EXCITED I CAN BARELY CONTAIN MYSELF!

THANK YOU STARS FOUNDATION!

