I love books. Especially children’s books.

Yesterday I got a new one – George and Martha, the Complete Stories of Two Friends. I loved George and Martha stories when I was little, so I’ve been scheming ways to incorporate the book with my students in therapy. Books are fabulous intervention tools, and can be used in SO many ways! They are also an excellent way for parents to expand and continue speech therapy at home.

Here are the ways I’ve thought of (so far) to use my favorite new book to achieve speech therapy goals:

  1. Answering wh-questions
    Every page I can ask a wh-question (What is George doing? Where is Martha? Why are they standing in a bathtub of split pea soup?). Many children with language disabilities need to work on answering these sort of questions. The book format keeps them engaged so they will stick with me for the whole session. They are also more likely to remember skills, and use them elsewhere, if they learned them in a natural setting like book reading, rather than by doing worksheets or drill.
  2. Asking wh-questions
    The same kids who can’t answer wh-questions also don’t know how to ask a wh-question. My higher kids can work on asking ME the questions, and I get to answer! A silly book offers many opportunities for good questions, and the storyline is funny enough that they have lots of them.
  3. Describing
    I use the phrase “Tell me something about this page” and the student can describe what they see. This works on vocabulary, describing skills, prepositions (on/under/beside/between), and sentence structure. It is more fun to describe a story than random picture cards, and more applicable to real life!
  4. Pronouns
    One of my students has difficulty using correct pronouns. George and Martha is a perfect book to target this, because it has one male character and one female character. Every page we are talking about what HE is doing and what SHE is doing.

I’m sure I will come up with more therapy targets as I go along. The possibilities are endless!

